Virtual Reality (VR)

21

Virtual Reality (VR), sometimes referred to as immersive multimedia, is a computer-simulated environment that can simulate physical presence in places in the real world or imagined worlds. Virtual reality can recreate sensory experiences, which include virtual taste, sight, smell, sound, and touch.

Most current virtual reality environments are displayed either on a computer screen or with special stereoscopic displays, and some simulations include additional sensory information and emphasise real sound through speakers or headphones targeted towards VR users. Some advanced, haptic, systems now include tactile information, generally known as force feedback in medical, gaming and military applications. Furthermore, virtual reality covers remote communication environments which provide virtual presence of users with the concepts of telepresence and telexistence or a virtual artifact (VA) either through the use of standard input devices such as a keyboard and mouse, or through multimodal devices such as a wired glove or omnidirectional treadmills. The simulated environment can be similar to the real world in order to create a lifelike experience—for example, in simulations for pilot or combat training—or it differs significantly from reality, such as in VR games. In practice, it is currently very difficult to create a high-fidelity virtual reality experience, because of technical limitations on processing power, image resolution, and communication bandwidth. However, VR's proponents hope that virtual reality's enabling technologies become more powerful and cost effective over time.

Virtual reality is often used to describe a wide variety of applications commonly associated with immersive, highly visual, 3D environments. The development of CAD software, graphics hardware acceleration, head-mounted displays, data gloves, and miniaturization have helped popularize the notion. In the book The Metaphysics of Virtual Reality by Michael R. Heim, seven different concepts of virtual reality are identified: simulation, interaction, artificiality, immersion, telepresence, full-body immersion, and network communication.

There has been an increase in interest in the potential social impact of new technologies, such as virtual reality. Researchers and educators argue that virtual reality will lead to a number of important changes in human life and activity, including:

  • Virtual reality will be integrated into daily life and activity, and will be used in various human ways. Another such speculation has been written up on how to reach ultimate happiness via virtual reality.
     
  • Techniques will be developed to influence human behavior, interpersonal communication, and cognition.
     
  • As we spend more and more time in virtual space, there will be a gradual "migration to virtual space", resulting in important changes in economics, worldview, and culture.

Cardboard VR Apps for Apple iPhone and Android Devices

Android Apps LINK TO INSTALL
Crossy VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=cardboard.crossy&hl=en
Final Kick VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ivanovichgames.finalkickVR&hl=en
Fish Schooling VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.doubledigital.fishschooling
Google Cardboard https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.samples.apps.cardboarddemo
Google Cardboard Camera https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.vr.cyclops
Google Expeditions https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.vr.expeditions&hl=en
Jurassic VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lunagames.jurassicvr&hl=en
JurassicLand https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.NeosunGame.jurassic&hl=en
Lamper https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.archiactinteractive.LfGC
Orbulus https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.VRCraftworks.Orbulus
Solar System VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.TrollLabs.SolarSystemVR
Space Rustlers https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.dubitlimited.spacerustlers&hl=en
Stone Age Snap https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.firstplayable.stoneagesnap_vr&hl=en
Tuscany Dive https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.FabulousPixel.TuscanyDive
Village https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.androidworks.villagevr.villagevr
VR Cave Flythrough https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.frag.vrcaveflythrough
VR Cosmic Roller Coaster https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.Cosmic.rollercoaster
VR Craft Demo https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=google.cardboard.craft
Wizard Academy https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.realiteer.wizardacademyvrcardboard&hl=en
Zombie Pirates https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.waphoo.vr.zombie

 

iPhone Apps LINK TO INSTALL
Crazy Swing VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/crazy-swing-vr/id935702116?mt=8
Crossy VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/vr-street-jump-for-google-cardboard/id1033803652?mt=8
Dinosaurs Everywhere https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dinosaurs-everywhere!-jurassic/id660029727?mt=8
Dive City Rollercoaster https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dive-city-rollercoaster/id771293168?mt=8
Final Kick VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/final-kick-vr-virtual-reality-free-soccer-game-for/id1085096375?mt=8
Froggy VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/froggy-vr/id935702391?mt=8
Google Cardboard https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/google-cardboard/id987962261?mt=8
Google Cardboard Camera https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cardboard-camera/id1095487294?mt=8
Google Expeditions https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/expeditions/id1131711060?mt=8
Jurassic VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/jurassic-virtual-reality-vr/id958174054?mt=8
JurassicLand https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/jurassic-virtual-reality-vr/id958174054?mt=8
Lamper https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/lamper-vr/id959758523?mt=8
Moorente https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/moorente/id820348776?mt=8
Space Rustlers https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/space-rustlers-vr-flying-game/id1068906049?mt=8
Stereoscopic Tunnel Effect https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stereoscopic-tunnel-effect/id658276824?mt=8
Stone Age Snap https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stone-age-snap-vr/id1073216199?mt=8
The Height https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-height/id764996957?mt=8
Virtual Easter https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/virtual-easter-for-google/id980944041?mt=8
Wizard Academy https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wizard-academy-vr-cardboard/id1047802252?mt=8
Zombie Pirates https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/zombie-pirates-google-cardboard-vr-shooter/id1120125818?mt=8

RELATED iED LEARNING TECHNOLOGIES